Obituaries

Mr Kenneth Duncan

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 1st Jul 2022

Mr Robert Whyte

  • Cremation Service
  • Tue 21st Jun 2022

Mr Archibald Stevenson

  • Cremation Service
  • Mon 20th Jun 2022

Mrs Catherine O'Fee

  • Funeral Service
  • Tue 14th Jun 2022

Mrs Edna Johnston

  • Funeral Service
  • Mon 13th Jun 2022

Mrs Valerie Cowper

  • Cremation Service
  • Tue 31st May 2022

Mrs Sarah McLeod

  • Cremation Service
  • Mon 23rd May 2022

Mrs Margaret Webster

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 20th May 2022

Mrs Annie Hughes

  • Cremation Service
  • Thu 19th May 2022

Mr Benjamin Fenton (Ben)

  • Cremation Service
  • Wed 18th May 2022

Mrs Siegrid Wyllie

  • Cremation Service
  • Tue 17th May 2022

Attending a funeral FAQs

View all FAQs >

What should I wear?

We normally associate wearing black with going to a funeral. But it is increasingly typical for families to express a preferred dress code. Our advice is to look out for information from the family in a notice published either in newspapers, online or in the funeral director window to advise you of their preference.

How long does a service last?

Typically a service in most churches or crematoria lasts around 20-30 minutes. A formal mass may take a little longer and we would expect this to be nearer an hour. Finally, burials can vary in length as they are weather dependent.

Where should I sit?

Family and close friends typically reserve the first couple of rows in a service. We recommend sitting nearer the front than the back of a service space in order to support the family and enabling late arrivals to discreetly fill back rows.

Where should I send flowers?

Often a family will express a preference for flowers - or charity donations in lieu of flowers. We recommend you keep an eye on notices posted in newspapers, or online or in the funeral director window so you are able to follow their wishes.